Book Review : The Fault in Our Stars – John Green

Synopsis:tfios cover

 Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

-Goodreads.com


 **SPOILER ALERT**

Being the typical fangirl I am, this book was the first thing that came to mind when thinking of what to post . However nothing I say could possibly give this novel the justice it deserves.

John Green is one of my favourite authors of all time so I had very high expectations for TFiOS after reading his other books (which I’m also looking forward to reviewing soon).  Green completely smashed through my expectations with such well crafted characters and beautifully developed plot which put me through an emotional roller-coaster (unfortunately for me, it didn’t just go up but sideways, down and diagonally, sometimes all at once)

By the second chapter  I was completely emotionally invested with the story.  Not just with Hazel and her “no bullshit” attitude towards life and Augustus with his perfectness and metaphors and his mere 253 pages of existence.  But with all the other characters : Isaac, Hazel’s oxygen tank whom John had the nerve to call Phillip, the parents, Van Houten ( who very much annoyed me but at the same time, I’d still love to read his grocery lists) and even Patrick, Lidewij, Kaitlyn and the Lonely, Vaguely Pedophilic Swing who played small but significant roles in the plot.

I had heard a lot of opinions where the people’s only reason for disliking the book was that Hazel and Augustus didn’t, “act like teenagers,” but you have to take into consideration the fact that they had both lived through more than most people endure within a lifetime. I loved the wit and the passion the characters spoke with and admired John Green for twisting the rather morbid topic of cancer and turning it into a story full of love and humour.

 I have to admit,  the book made me laugh, but there were numerous occassions where I all but bawled my brains out. One of these moments was when Hazel’s mum says, “I won’t be a mom anymore,” and having close experience with cancer, I can imagine the pain and fright that families of cancer patients go through when their loved one actually passes. As not only do they lose a person dear to their heart, but also the entire aspect of a future with them.

Of course, there was also another  moment when this happened :

feelsThe bound-to-end-in-disaster-perfect boy who only physically appeared in 172 pages and completely and utterly took over and broke my heart within them, was cruelly taken away by the monster we Nerdfighters call John Green. At some point, it became evident to me that it was going to happen and being the complete and utter idiot I am, I put the killing thing right between my hands and gave it the power to do it’s killing.

However, it was a great privilege to have my heart broken by him, the boy with the blue eyes and a huge heart (proven by his frequent losses at video games after trying to save everyone) was one of the best written YA boyfriends of all time. His love of metaphors, fear of oblivion and great skill at drawing Venn diagrams won my heart over without the tiniest bit of struggle from my side.

As Van Houten rightly said, “Some infinities are bigger than other infinities,” and I’m more than grateful to have been able to read this wonderful tale of the two misfortunately-star-crossed lovers and their little infinity and recommend that you go ahead and do the same. I’d definitely be interested in hearing other people’s opinions.

My Rating : 4/5 stars 

“I fell in love like you would fall asleep: slowly and then all at once.”

-Hazel Grace Lancaster

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

