Book Review: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares – Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Synopsis :dash & lily's book of dares cover

“I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

*Slight Spoiler Warning I Guess?*

First off, I have to say I enjoyed this book the most out of all of Cohn and Levithan’s collaborations. Mainly because I could actually relate to the characters; Lily being socially inept really made me connect with the story a lot more than the previous books, where I shared little to no traits with the characters.

Unfortunately for the book however, there were quite a few moments when it had me giving it the side-eye with an iconic 

exasperated sigh

and maybe a few of these : naya rivera eye roll

Mostly in Dash’s chapters, dear Levithan : I’m really sorry, but it was all too pretentious for me. Whilst Lily’s chapters were written from a well-read person’s perspective, Dash’s were almost on the kitschy side of things and irked me like crazy. However, he did manage to make me laugh at points; especially when he met Mrs Basil E, “Because you know when a cow chews grass? And he or she chews and chews and chews? Well, green tea tastes like French-kissing that cow after it’s done chewing all that grass.”- and for that I commend him.

Apart from that, the book was a cute winter read (although I didn’t manage to read it around Christmas itself), however much unrealistic in terms of the circumstances in which the characters met, it was short, sweet and I can’t really say I didn’t enjoy it most of the time – especially when compared to the authors’ previous books.  I would definitely recommend it to fans of Cohn and Levithan who want a winter-themed read 🙂

My rating: 3/5 Stars

“I want to believe there is a somebody out there for me. I want to believe that I exist to be there for that somebody.”

-Lily

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

