Book Review : Transformed – E.V. Fairfall

Synopsis:transformed cover

Thea, all-mighty Mother Earth, only had one rule to follow above all else, one promise to keep to her brother: never take a human form. She would’ve kept that promise if it weren’t for Brice. He’s handsome and confident, but above all he’s merciless.

He’s also a hunter who has tormented Thea for years. She believes if she could teach Brice compassion, she might finally be able to save her creations and herself from his savage ways. Then she meets Chamber: another hunter.

She soon finds herself fascinated by−and torn between−the two boys: Brice and Chamber. Lost within a torrent of human emotions, Thea starts to lose who she is as she falls in love with the one thing that she’s always hated: a hunter… a human.


I received a copy of this book in return for an honest review. 

**No spoilers**

First off, I have to say that this book was a pleasant surprise – right from the circumstances in which I acquired it, down to the actual reading. I wasn’t sure what to expect of such a unique concept but the book turned out to be a really fast-paced, enthralling read.

The characters were brilliantly thought out and developed during the course of the story. I grew to love characters which at first I had rather negative feelings about and vice-versa (except for the fact I hated Brice from the beginning and just ended up utterly detesting him by the end of the book – and if I’m being honest I really thought he got what he deserved….I know I’m an awful, abominable person…)

evil

I basically felt like this during that part of the book- but he did bring it upon himself.

 Fairfall handled the touchy topic of religion ingeniously, with God presented as the author’s own interpretation instead of the being we are traditionally exposed to in the Bible; readers who are not religious believers are able to enjoy this book as much as religious readers- which in my opinion is a really good characteristic for a book of this topic to have.

The only thing that really bugged me about the novel was the length of it – 273 pages just wasn’t enough – though that may be down to my finicky style of reading . The story could also be overly cheesy at times but I guess that was down to Thea quite literally having to discover herself as a person.

The ending of the book very nearly nearly broke my heart until the very last moments where Fairfall aptly brought out the band-aids and stuck them over the cracks in my chest.

I really enjoyed this book and will probably seek to attain a physical copy of it soon (the cover is absolutely beautiful and it’d be a shame not to have it on my shelves.) I’d recommend it to fans of YA Fiction who are looking for something original to read.

My rating : 4/5 stars

“The humans’ power to create then also became their power to destroy.”

-Thea

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

