Book Review: More Than This – Patrick Ness

Synopsis:more than this cover

A boy drowns, desperate and alone in his final moments. He dies.

Then he wakes, naked and bruised and thirsty, but alive.

How can this be? And what is this strange deserted place?

As he struggles to understand what is happening, the boy dares to hope. Might this not be the end? Might there be more to this life, or perhaps this afterlife?

From multi-award-winning Patrick Ness comes one of the most provocative and moving novels of our time.


***NO SPOILERS***

Having read Ness’ previous works (The Chaos Walking trilogy), I was pleasantly surprised with the style in which More Than This was written as I can’t say I fully enjoyed the trilogy and didn’t expect much when setting out on the adventure that this book certainly provided.

It wasn’t dialogue based; for about 200 pages or so, we are greeted by the mind of the boy who is probably as confused as the reader which was rather refreshing to read – and whilst this dialogue-less way of writing is not one I get to read very often I cannot say I didn’t enjoy it because it was largely gripping.

Ness weaved a complete and utter masterpiece instead of a world – it was wonderfully thought out – from the smallest details like the horse painting to the bigger locales as well as the whole town itself.  The characters were brilliantly written, the main character as well as both Tomasz (whom I adore for being a secret Superman – plus there really aren’t many books written with Polish characters so he was a delightful surprise)  and Regine captured my heart with their stories. I thought they were really good additions to the plot and some of their actions throughout were commendable and heartwarming.

Not only did the book capture my attention right from the prologue, it had no trouble keeping it as I galloped through each and every page, trying to absorb as much information as possible – despite my efforts; I was very much dumbfounded and bewildered with what was going on for the first part or two of the book. Of course, this was due to the fact that Seth himself was perplexed when it came to his surroundings and literally walked around like

what - confused britney


for the first few chapters of the story in particular. I really enjoyed the character development that happened when he met with the two unlikely allies and finally got a grasp on what was happening around him.

The book involves twists and turns which will leave you dumbfounded most of the time, but is it worth it? After giving some thought to the rating I was going to give a book that left me sitting there for thirty minutes of my life staring at the last page as though baby Jesus and the Easter bunny were going to give me the answers to life itself through it, the answer was pretty clear – YES. This book has probably been one of the literary highlights for this year and I would recommend it without question – therefore I believe it may just deserve the rating which I am usually hesitant to give.

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

“Know yourself and go in swinging.”

 –Seth Wearing

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

