Book Review: Wicked – Jennifer L. Armetrout

Synopsis:wicked cover Things are about to get Wicked in New Orleans. Twenty-two year old Ivy Morgan isn’t your average college student. She, and others like her, know humans aren’t the only thing trolling the French Quarter for fun… and for food. Her duty to the Order is her life. After all, four years ago, she lost everything at the hands of the creatures she’d sworn to hunt, tearing her world and her heart apart. Ren Owens is the last person Ivy expected to enter her rigidly controlled life. He’s six feet and three inches of temptation and swoon-inducing charm. With forest-green eyes and a smile that’s surely left a stream of broken hearts in its wake, he has an uncanny, almost unnatural ability to make her yearn for everything he has to offer. But letting him in is as dangerous as hunting the cold-blooded killers stalking the streets. Losing the boy she loved once before had nearly destroyed her, but the sparking tension that grows between them becomes impossible for Ivy to deny. Deep down, she wants… she needs more than what her duty demands of her, what her past has shaped for her. But as Ivy grows closer to Ren, she realizes she’s not the only one carrying secrets that could shatter the frail bond between them. There’s something he’s not telling her, and one thing is for certain. She’s no longer sure what is more dangerous to her—the ancient beings threatening to take over the town or the man demanding to lay claim to her heart and her soul.


***NO REAL SPOILERS AHEAD***

Jennifer Armentrout is one of my all-time favourite authors regardless of whether she writes as JLA or J. Lynn – so needless to say I had VERY high expectations when starting Wicked. And for the most part, they were fulfilled.

Contrary to my usual reviewing habits I feel like getting what irked me off my chest first so it doesn’t interrupt my account of the more enjoyable bits.

Due to my heightened clairvoyance (or mayyybe not) this book was rather predictable; at certain crucial points in the plot I was able to predict that things were going to happen chapters before they actually occurred and sat there like this

pascal covering face

In preparation for what was to come

….which admittedly was rather annoying but didn’t really stop me from fangirling about everything else in the story.

On the whole, the book was enjoyable. The characters were well written, I found myself engrossed in the whole ‘badass’ vibe Ivy had going on, and of course Ren *le lovestruck sighRen was not only entertaining but also a pretty much perfect example of the male variety of the homo sapiens species and their relationship thankfully was eventually allowed to flower into something which had me squealing and maybe dancing here and there…

For some reason though, neither of the pair were actually my favourite characters in this particular book; the spot being taken by a foot-tall brownie with a sliight (perhaps sliightly unhealthy) obsession with dolls and beignets, as well as Amazon Prime and all things Harry Potter (and Twilight) related.

yay flynn rider

Despite that, I found that it would have been rather helpful if he had told Ivy a piece of VERY important information a bit earlier which would have possibly kept her calmer towards the end of the book but I guess it would have made things unnecessarily complicated, especially in the situation the whole Order was in.

I guess that brings me to the finale of the book which just left me throwing questions left and right in a confused mental turmoil which ended with me tearing through the Internet only to find torn release date

YES – you read that right – 2016… And until then my questions will be left unanswered and the fate of the characters largely unknown, and because of JLA’s writing escapades usually ending in trouble for the characters – I am worried not only for them but my own mental well-being by the time Torn rolls around.

Anyhow, if you are looking for a completely new take on the world of fae and are willing to jump on the waiting wagon for Torn – this is the book for you!

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

“You did wrong in all the right ways”

-Renald Owens

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

