ARC Review: Shadows – Paula Weston

Synopsis:shadows cover

It’s almost a year since Gaby Winters watched her twin brother die. In the sunshine of a new town her body has healed, but her grief is raw and constant. It doesn’t help that every night in her dreams she fights and kills hell-beasts. And then Rafa comes to town. Not only does he look exactly like the guy who’s been appearing in Gaby’s dreams, he tells her things about her brother and her life that cannot be true, things that are dangerous. Who is Rafa? Who are the Rephaim? And who is Gaby? The truth lies in the shadows of her nightmares.


I received an advance reader edition of this book from Hachette Children’s Group via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

***SPOILER FREE***

Despite this book being  released in 2013, I somehow only got to read it this week and boy, I’m kinda upset I’ve been missing out on it for so long (but then my TBR pile has just been growing so I blame it for swallowing not only this particular title but many others).

I have to admit, I haven’t really read a book about angels since I discovered Lauren Kate’s Fallen series oh so many years ago – so this one was a nice change. Whilst it didn’t completely blow my mind (this being a good thing in this particular case due to my recent reading leaving my brain a bit bewildered) the story was engaging and fast paced.

I have to say that I loved Rafa and Gabie’s undeniable chemistry and give loads of Brownie points to Weston for not including all the insta-love jazz I have grown to somewhat despise.

I also loved the development of Gabe and Maggie’s friendnship and if I’m being honest I just loved the characters in general, they were brilliantly written and thought out (though I kind of wish Daniel got slightly more back-story to him to maybe explain his behaviour changes around Gabe but I’m guessing that’s what the next books are for) and really captured my attention throughout.

I was excited to find that this book contained Foo Fighters!dude, yes

Of course, I then decided it would be an amazing idea to sit there listening to every single one of their albums because it just seemed like a very good soundtrack to the book (and a better way to pass the time, rather than – say- do some work).

Personally, I adored the setting, between Australia and Italy and all the other places that were mentioned, I had a huge case of wanderlust whilst reading – they were described so wonderfully it seemed almost surreal and I just wished I could be there to experience it all firsthand (although upon further thought, that may have caused a few problems in practice).

Anyhow, when it comes to the plot itself, it really couldn’t have been improved, I was restless for all the conflict and action to be resolved and couldn’t wait to see what else Weston could possibly have up her sleeve and while the story was wrapped up quite nicely in the end, I am more than ready to read on – and I think that any fan of angels and demons and other things hell-related should definitely look into reading this book, as well as its descendants (which I myself will be trying to find ASAP)

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

“Most stories are based on something real.”

-Jason

One thought on “ARC Review: Shadows – Paula Weston

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

