Why do I go MIA?

(and some tips for the  unlucky souls who take exams) 

So lately (and previously) I’ve pretty much been AWOL for weeks at a time… BUT – this time, I am proud to say I had a legitimate reason for not posting; namely a French exam derek hale - dramatic sigh

which I may or may not have actually procrastinated preparing for until it was basically too late. But hey, they say hope is a very good thing to have and I guess in this case; me hoping for a good grade despite studying for about two days worked ( ***Disclaimer: I do not recommend you do this or even try to  – it is a bad habit end usually ends in a lot of stress which you have to agree is better to avoid. So please start looking at whatever you have to study for AT LEAST a few days or so before the actual date of the exam unless you like pulling frantic all-nighters.***)

Fortunately for me, it turned out alright and I came back home smiling like a complete idiot with the knowledge that I could parle français enough to get me an A* which is amazing, all things considered.wahey

So, because of my obvious exam handling prowess (note: heavy sarcasm) I decided it might be a good idea to share a few tips which actually work for me when studying for an exam and some based on my own mistakes during previous exams despite it not really fitting in with my bookish theme…

5 exam tips that may be useful to you based on my experience:

  1. So I am a hypocrite in saying this but REVISE, seriously, take some time and prioritize revision, because it is important and it does help in whatever subject you may be studying whether it be history, English Lit. or languages. ALWAYS make sure to actively revise any notes you have taken – reading doesn’t always work for people; try different ways of revision and find the way which work for you – I found a useful list of ways to revise here.
  2. CHECK ANY RESOURCES YOU ARE GIVEN IN THE EXAM; extra loose sheets, that kind of thing – unfortunately speaking from experience, I managed to lose a lot of marks because I did not think to turn over a sheet we were given; which my nerve-wrecked brain assumed was rough working paper- and who needs that when there’s plenty of space inside the exam itself, right? WRONG. There was two questions on the back of it… with easy marks which would have brought my grade up had I done them. Luckily, I did that in a mock exam; but it was a lesson that has stayed with me…
  3. DO NOT DO ALL-NIGHT REVISION SESSIONS – unless you are a vampire, ghost, some supernatural creature and/or do not sleep for whatever reason. Your brain will need to rest. Do not try to make excuses and say you’ll just “drink some coffee/ energy drink” and you’ll be “fine”. Because it very rarely works out very well and you might end up with an even worse grade than you would have had you gone to sleep instead of staying up all night trying to study.
  4. EAT. Whilst it may not seem like a good idea to your queasy feeling stomach. Your brain will need more food than usual due to increased activity. Of course, try to make this food relatively healthy – but who am I to judge if you choose to eat a tub of ice-cream or an entire bar of chocolate to treat yourself whilst revising, because it is hard work.
  5. BELIEVE IN YOURSELF. If you say you can, you most probably will. Know what you want to achieve, aim high and do not listen to people who tell you otherwise because at the end of the day, even if you don’t reach that sky-high target, you’ll still be pretty damn high and you should be proud of that.

And that’s that I guess. I hope at least a few of these are relatively useful.

Do you have any exam-handling tips/ tricks that you use? Feel free to share them below 🙂

“There is No Elevator to Success. You Have to Take the Stairs”

Jody Hedlung

5 thoughts on “Why do I go MIA?

  1. Ooo love this post! It’s been a while since I did any exams, but I love your tips! Great quote too. I love that you’ve included “believe in yourself” because self-doubt can play a huge part in not doing so well.. you end up second-guessing and later on you find out that you were right the first time! Eugh!!
    Btw, I love your clips! 😀
    Amy x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Amy 🙂 and I guess I included it because it’s happened to me so many times it’d be a sin not to. I’ve come to realise that was my main problem when it came to the actual exams and I’ve been working on it since. I’m glad you liked the post despite not having taken exams for a while – it really means a lot when someone who has no reason to relate to something actually enjoys reading about it (it’s a delight in itself when some of my non-bookish friends visit and tell me they liked what I’ve written – and in your case obviously the fact you don’t do exams anymore )- so thank you for that and for finding the time to comment 🙂
      Ola x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: October 2015 Wrap Up | IncendiumLibri

  3. Pingback: 2015 End of Year Survey | IncendiumLibri

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

