Book Review: Vain – Amelie Fisher

vain cover

Synopsis:

If you’re looking for a story about a good, humble girl, who’s been hurt by someone she thought she could trust, only to find out she’s not as vulnerable as she thought she was and discovers an empowering side of herself that falls in love with the guy who helps her find that self, blah, blah, blah…then you’re gonna’ hate my story.

Because mine is not the story you read every time you bend back the cover of the latest trend novel. It’s not the “I can do anything, now that I’ve found you/I’m misunderstood but one day you’ll find me irresistible because of it” tale. Why? Because, if I was being honest with you, I’m a complete witch. There’s nothing redeeming about me. I’m a friend using, drug abusing, sex addict from Los Angeles. I’m every girlfriend’s worst nightmare and every boy’s fantasy.

I’m Sophie Price…And this is the story about how I went from the world’s most envied girl to the girl no one wanted around and why I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.


***SPOILER FREE***

I can’t say I didn’t think I would stop reading  this book right at the beginning   because I outright detested Sophie – she disgusted me more than any human should be able to – she was a manipulative vixen (read: total b****), out to use everyone and anyone who came within her grasp.

Of course, having read the synopsis, I should have been prepared for everything that even the title Vain implied, but I clearly wasn’t. However I pushed on being my usual stubborn self and read on, and boy… Am I glad I did.

The book turned out to be much better than it started out – so heads up to anyone out there reading it – DO NOT give up on the entire book just because of the girl you see in the first chapters, believe me- she finally realizes everything you’re thinking a little way into the story. And from then onwards, the novel was an absolutely wonderful read – I simply could not bring myself to put it down for a single moment. I think it’s pointless of me to say really but I loved the character development which set Sophie back on the right road.

And indeed, the road was not only right, but beautiful; as was a man named Ian (or Dingane as the children called him). In contrast to my initial feelings for Sophie, I immediately loved him despite his hostile behaviour; Sophie really managed to sell him to me in all his glory. Their first meeting especially was electric, I was smittenlet me love you

And by all the parts with the bugs and the guns and something despicable, I was as deep in love with him as Sophie (and that’s something, considering our different dimensions).

Fisher created a wonderful story, I loved the orphans and there was a few moments in particular which have stayed with me all this time after having read it (mostly those which had me laying in a foetal position trying not to cry)

rolling around on the floor crying

Why do you hurt me so?

However, the ending was wonderful- Shock horror! I was truly happy with an ending for once – some authors just do not give standalone books the closure they need and Fisher managed to do that perfectly, so kudos to her 🙂

It goes without saying that I would recommend reading this book as it has been one of my favourites thus far this year (psssssst… there’s a review coming about the favourite book that I’ve read in these past nine months soon) and I will be looking into reading the others in the series very soon.

My Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

“The shortest distance between two points is the line from me to you.”

Ian Aberdeen

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

