Book Review: Notes from Ghost Town – Kate Ellison

Synopsis:notes from ghost town cover

They say first love never dies…

From critically acclaimed author Kate Ellison comes a heartbreaking mystery of mental illness, unspoken love, and murder. When sixteen-year-old artist Olivia Tithe is visited by the ghost of her first love, Lucas Stern, it’s only through scattered images and notes left behind that she can unravel the mystery of his death.

There’s a catch: Olivia has gone colorblind, and there’s a good chance she’s losing her mind completely—just like her mother did. How else to explain seeing (and falling in love all over again with) someone who isn’t really there?

With the murder trial looming just nine days away, Olivia must follow her heart to the truth, no matter how painful. It’s the only way she can save herself.


***NO SPOILERS***

Gosh damn… This book was heartbreakingly beautiful. I cannot count the times that it made me cry (from happiness, or sadness, or a special mixture of both that only a few books have evoked on me) or the times when I sat, lost for words because the book was truly wonderful and I do consider it a favourite of this year thus far.

Fisher dealt with some incredibly difficult subjects – death (by murder), divorce, and of course mental illness which is the main drive behind the book.

Olivia as a character was incredible, you could really relate to her – there was a few times when her pain actually rang something deep inside my heart and I felt actual pain for what she was feeling. She was very easy to empathize with due to the very mature way in which she handled things – dealing with your first love’s death and thinking that it was at the hands of your own mother in my opinion warrants some of the whining that sometimes occurred. She had an incredible relationship with her mother, which actually made me cry happy tears nearing the end of the book.

I'm hoping I looked something like this, but it was probably more ugly happy crying on my behalf

I’m hoping I looked something like this, but it was probably more ugly happy crying on my behalf

The novel gradually unwound in a manner I found delightful, whilst the beginning was entirely detail-based world building; the plot progressed to an action-filled story brimming with suspense (with some plot twists that I did not see coming) and which is eventually wrapped up in a pleasing way with no questions left unanswered (although I do wish there was more written – purely because of my curiosity as to what happens to her in the future).

I would highly recommend this book to any fans of paranormal mysteries, and will personally be looking to read more of Ellison’s writing as I fell in love with her eloquent style.

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

“Maybe the heart is an organ on constant ready, always waiting to try again, always open to the next best thing”

Olivia

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

