ARC Review: Chained – Suzanne Valenti

chained cover

Synopsis:

Terrified of the contamination and the creatures it has created, humanity hides behind The Wall. No one knows what lies beyond the wasteland. Maya has never thought much about what might still be out there, lurking in the forgotten places. But when she’s thrust into the unknown, she is forced to question everything she has ever been told. Not everyone outside died, some of them became something… else. As her heart is torn in two, every choice she makes is harder than the last. What she discovers will change her forever. She knows she will probably die, but Maya has seen enough of death and she won’t let it have her without a fight.


***SPOILER FREE*** 

– So first off, I’d like to say a very big thank to Suzanne, for not only being an incredibly lovely and talented author, but also kind enough to provide an ARC copy for me to review –

I have to say that at first I wasn’t sure what to think of the book, it is on rare occasions that I actually like dystopia books as they all seem to bear similarities which often irk me, but this wasn’t the case with Chained – it was a largely compelling, exciting read.

The characters were well developed, Maya was relatively easy to relate to and I really appreciated her relationship with Taylor (even though I felt he was slightly uhm… forgotten during a good part of the plot itself which in turn made me question indeed how strong it was, but I guess the fact that Maya was trying to fix the situation they were in made up for that fact) and the bonds she forms with certain characters later on in the novel (*queue slight fangirl dance and squealing*).

Of course, being me – I got more attached to the dog (or maybe I’d be better off describing her as a wolf as she would probably be offended by such description) in the story than the other characters because it was probably the least predictable of the characters Maya associated with having no previous experience of animals.

I liked the idea of The Wall, although obviously, I predicted it was largely the government’s way of keeping tabs on everyone and everything inside instead of just a ‘safety precaution’ as it was often described.It added to the sense of adventure present during Maya’s exploration which really quickened the pace of the book to the point where I was able to finish it in two days despite being overloaded with school work and other menial tasks.

I would definitely say this is a wonderful debut novel that is worth the read if you have the chance, particularly if you like dystopia novels.

My Rating: 3.5/5 Stars (Pushing 4 with one or two issues)

“Striving forward together, for the good of the population.”

Citizens of The Wall

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

