Book Review: Ultraviolet – R.J. Anderson

Synopsis:ultraviolet cover

Once upon a time there was a girl who was special.
This is not her story.
Unless you count the part where I killed her.
Sixteen-year-old Alison has been sectioned in a mental institute for teens, having murdered the most perfect and popular girl at school. But the case is a mystery: no body has been found, and Alison’s condition is proving difficult to diagnose. Alison herself can’t explain what happened: one minute she was fighting with Tori — the next she disintegrated. Into nothing. But that’s impossible. Right?

 

 


***One Slight Spoiler Ahead***

So the first time I read Ultraviolet I was around 11 years old and had bought the book using one of my annual Waterstone’s gift cards (because pretty much all my family has been aware of my bibliophilia for years now). Needless to say I really enjoyed it, and had come back to it, time and time again which left my paperback copy looking a tad, uhm…. well-loved to say the very least. Albeit loved is exactly the word for it, as I enjoyed the story immensely and cannot say I regret reading it time and time again.

One thing I’d have to say about it, is that it hooked me straight away, before the book had officially begun; as it drew me in upon reading the blurb which is simply 

Once upon a time there was a girl who was special. This is not her story. Unless you count the part where I killed her.

in the edition of the book that I possess. Which in my opinion, is still one of the best blurbs I’ve had the chance to come across, it is short, striking and gives just enough away (or so we think) to intrigue the reader into reading more.

The characters within the beautifully designed covers were also incredible – I empathised with Alison, I found her story heartfelt in all its tragedy, love, and confusion – I don’t think I’ve ever read a story quite like this one before either, so Anderson really did a great job at creating the plot, as well as merging and bending genres together to create her own, amazing and beautiful tale which flowed much like poetry in all its grand description.

I loved the journey of self discovery which Faraday enabled Alison to go through…. *sigh* Faraday, let’s just say I wasn’t aware that aliens could be that good-natured, or good-looking or just generally so awesomely bad-ass until I read this book

meowth heart eyes

Even Meowth agrees

which I later followed up with the Lux series by one of my favourite authors, Jennifer L. Armentrout (if you haven’t read her books, I suggest you go and put them on your TBR right now.)

Gosh, Alison and Dr. Faraday’s love story was beautiful and tear-inducing in a tentative, bittersweet way. The ending was something else entirely, and I think it set up the second book very well (but that is a title for discussion at a later date as I think I need to return to it again to be able to give it justice). I was glad to find it wasn’t a case of complete insta-love and that it gradually blossomed from infatuation into something on a much deeper emotional level.

If you’re a fan of science-fiction, or into finding out about strange and wonderful psychological phenomenons with the protagonist themselves (as you may already know I love books with confused main characters as it’s nice to explore their world as they see it, as whenever that happens I too am often as confused as them), I would definitely recommend reading this book and I do hope you love it as much as I did, or even more.

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

“I realized then that even though I was a tiny speck in an infinite cosmos, a blip on the timeline of eternity, I was not without purpose.”

Alison Jeffries

One thought on “Book Review: Ultraviolet – R.J. Anderson

  1. Pingback: October 2015 Wrap Up | IncendiumLibri

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

