Book Review: Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between- Jennifer E. Smith

hello goodbye and everything in between cover

Synopsis:

On the night before they leave for college, Clare and Aidan have only one thing left to do: figure out whether they should stay together or break up. Over the course of twelve hours, they retrace the steps of their relationship, trying to find something in their past that might help them decide what their future should be. The night leads them to family and friends, familiar landmarks and unexpected places, hard truths and surprising revelations. But as the clock winds down and morning approaches, so does their inevitable goodbye. The question is, will it be goodbye for now or goodbye forever?

Charming, bittersweet, and full of wisdom and heart, this irresistible novel from Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, explores the difficult choices that arise when life and love lead in different directions.


I received an advance reader edition of this book from Headline Pulblishing Group via bookbridgr in exchange for an honest review.

**SPOILER FREE**

Did you say a book written about ONE night? Count me in! Honestly, once I found out that this book was going to be set during the course of only twelve hours (with the epilogue rounding off the story at a later date) I wanted to read it, and once I started – it really drove the story to the point where I was literally annoyed at my classes for getting in the way of me finishing the book, which coincidentally only took a day – a fact that may have been helped by its wee length, at only 247 pages it was a tiny baby bookling compared to the books I had read before it.

give me a pillow... give me some snacks

The story was adorable and yet tangibly nostalgic, it felt like I was right there with Clare and Aidan on their last night, in a town that I had not heard of before – but saw it as they would have, with plenty of memories attached to each and every place. Their relationship was so real, so genuine I couldn’t help but hope that they would stay together despite there being the obvious problem of distance between them.

When it comes to the characters separately, I can’t say that Clare was very likable, her indecisiveness was annoying at times, but I guess in circumstances like those the decision would not be clear-cut  and hence her behaviour could be explained, but Aidan’s character made up for it twofold, and  I truly felt sorry for him at several points along the way.

So whilst the list didn’t quite go to plan, I really liked how the plot developed and how Smith decided to resolve the issues that arose along the way. Clare’s relationship with her best friend, Stella was put back on the right track right after I almost lost all hope for it, thankfully, as personally I take broTP split-ups as badly as my OTP split-ups, probably because my best friend and I really cannot argue with each other to save our lives, there’s just too much we need to tell each other after a few hours of ‘angry’ silence.

The ending book was heartfelt and a perfect conclusion to the story of Clare and Aidan, as well as Scotty and Stella and all the other characters involved in the plot. And the last sentence was perfection! I would certainly recommend this mixture of a fast pace and a beautifully written contemporary romance to cure any reading slumps you may be suffering from.

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

“Sometimes the hardest thing are the ones most worth doing.” 

Aidan’s Father

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between- Jennifer E. Smith

  1. This sounds like an interesting book. Just for the sake of rounding out the description of it (I love to have the pros & the cons) was there anything you didn’t like about it (other than Clare’s indecisiveness, which sounds like it’s a major component of the book).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: November Wrap-Up,and a Welcome | IncendiumLibri

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

