Book Review: Paint My Body Red – Heidi R. Kling

Synopsis:paint my body red cover

The world isn’t just black or white. Sometimes it’s red…

They think I’m next. That I’ll be the seventh kid to step in front of a train and end my life. With the rash of suicides at my school, Mom’s shipped me off to my dad’s Wyoming ranch for “my own safety.” They think I’m just another depressed teenager whose blood will end up on the tracks. They don’t know my secrets…or what I’ve done.
I wasn’t expecting Dad to be so sick, for the ranch I loved to be falling to bits, or for Jake—the cute boy I knew years ago—to have grown into a full-fledged, hot-as-hell cowboy. Suddenly, I don’t want to run anymore, but the secrets from home have found me…even here. And this time, it’s up to me to face them—and myself—if I want to live…


I received an advance reader edition of this book from Entangled Publishing, LLC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

***SPOILER FREE***

When requesting this book, I really didn’t know what to expect – and now having read it- it certainly beat all of my expectations. Kling expertly created a tale full of palpable tragedy, dealing with difficult subjects with a lot of tact and intelligence. Of course, from reading the synopsis, we are aware that this book will hold a lot of potentially triggering content (that being suicides of several teenagers) but there are also other topics which I have to commend Kling for writing about, because it couldn’t have been easy to describe some of the scenes within this book and the end result is wonderful and touching.

all aboard the feels train

You will definitely need tissues during your adventure with this particular book – I swear down on the Easter Bunny (yes I have a thing for mentioning the Easter Bunny) it could make Chuck Norris cry. Or even a mountain… or any other inanimate object for that matter.

I am a complete and utter sucker for any kind of positive character development, and this book contained so much that I was puking rainbows everywhere whilst internally screaming with joy. The empty shell of a girl that we are presented with at the very beginning of the book flourishes into a beautiful, strong-willed young woman after her arrival at the ranch and the change was fantastic to read about – especially when Paige herself noticed it at several points along the way.

Speaking of the ranch, I found the bonds she created there amazing, especially  with a gorgeous mustang named Scout (yes… yet again – I do not know what it is about me and animals in books) which made incredibly sad at one point during the book (all I’m going to say is that she thankfully doesn’t die but something else does happen)…

And of course her relationship with Jake, who I found really helped Paige find herself in the whole situation that she was going through. Thankfully unaccompanied by the ever-present in YA Fiction nowadays insta-love – the evolution of their connection was incredibly well written, and very real in those circumstances.

This book will definitely stay with me for a long while, I think it was one of the best books I have read this year – my emotions were rocket-high and I was turning pages like a mad-woman trying to find out what was going to happen next. Therefore I definitely think that fans of well-written, original contemporary romance which deals with some very real and common but unspoken issues, should definitely give this book a go and I cannot wait to hear their thoughts on it!

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

“We cannot control the wind , but we can adjust our sails”

-Paige’s Father

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Paint My Body Red – Heidi R. Kling

  1. Pingback: November Wrap-Up,and a Welcome | IncendiumLibri

  2. Pingback: 2015 End of Year Survey | IncendiumLibri

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

