A *little* Update

So in the last week, I’ve probably read a grand total of 100 pages or so

j2 gasps.gif

I know… I know… I should be thoroughly ashamed – 100 pages split in 7 days would mean I basically only read 14 pages a day… Which is appalling by my own standards (although in reality I read about 60 of those pages yesterday which probably makes the whole situation even worse).

How? You ask, how could you only read 100 pages in the space of 168 hours ? Well, you see – there are these things called exams and my school just happen to be obsessed with the concept of doing as many as possible whilst expecting us to achieve good grades.

that's impossible

Well apparently it isn’t… and so my usual quality reading time has been reduced to virtually nothing in the past few days because of 13 exams starting next Wednesday which is infuriating – but at least I’m hoping for my grades to make up for that and if they don’t … well I’d rather not think about how annoyed I would be, and the consequences that would follow (and only a part of those would be the effects of my wrath on the school, which would also mean unfortunate repercussions for me *shudders at the idea of attending the hell that the school decided to dub “Biscuit Club” – a club aimed at the delinquents students who fail to reach the standards set by the school under the pretense of giving them biscuits whilst they study *.)

But whilst there is that impending disaster, there are some good news as well :

 I’ve had the chance to become the editor of another blog after receiving an email from a friend from school asking me for help setting up her blog (because I’ve made sure that all my friends know I own one myself and I guess they think I’m good enough at this whole thing to be able to actually help them – which is a nice thought). So I’d like to say a big thank you to Libby over at the Freedom in Books Blog for giving me this opportunity – you may see some of my influence over there as time progresses.

I have also had the opportunity to use my blogging  skills in a practice exam – who knew it would ever come in handy? But it did, and the teacher who normally despises me said that my blog-post-style piece on a place that had stayed in my memory (the place being Auschwitz – because who doesn’t like depressing themselves in English class) was “beautiful” and “an honour to read”… which is sliiightly ironic seeing as I have never actually visited the place – despite wanting to for a while now. So I guess I have blogging to thank for the best mark I’ve achieved in English these past few weeks – which is also lovely.

I’ve also received a Press Release of Jennifer L. Armentrout’s upcoming novel Oblivion (Lux Series 1.5) – if you haven’t pre-ordered it yet, or even heard of JLA herself, I would totally recommend reading her books, her writing style is impeccable and never fails to bring me out of a reading slump – I really cannot wait to devour the book in all its entirety.

Speaking of books, I’m also hoping to go see the second part of the film adaptation of Mockingjay tomorrow, so keep me in your thoughts if you can because I’m not sure if I’ll be able to survive the onslaught of feels that will most probably attack me. I will probably incorporate a little spoiler-free review of that in my next post (or maybe even make it its own post – because the film looks like it may just deserve it.

Ending with some motivational words, and one of my favourite quotes when it comes to exam period and general incentive to do anything.

“Work hard until you no longer have to introduce yourself”

Unknown (if anyone knows the author – tell me in the comments below)

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

