ARC Review: Oblivion – Jennifer L. Armentrout

Synopsis:oblivion

Experience the epic love story of OBSIDIAN as told by its hero, Daemon Black…

I knew the moment Katy Swartz moved in next door, there was going to be trouble. Lots of it.

And trouble’s the last thing I need, since I’m not exactly from around here. My people arrived on Earth from Lux, a planet thirteen billion light years away. Plus, if there’s one thing I know, it’s that humans can’t be trusted. We scare them. We can do things they only dream about, and honestly, we make them look weak as hell. ‘Cuz they are.

But Kat is getting to me in ways no one else has, and I can’t stop myself from wanting her—or wanting to use my powers to protect her. She makes me weak, and I’m the strongest of our kind, tasked with protecting us all. So this one simple girl…she can mean the end for us. Because the Luxen have an even bigger enemy—the Arum, and I need to stay on my game.

Falling for Katy—a human—won’t just place her in danger. It could get us all killed, and that’s one thing I’ll never let happen…


 I received a copy of this book  from Hodder & Stoughton via Bookbridgr in exchange for an honest review.

I literally screamed the moment the postman came on a dreary Wednesday morning (Dear Mr. Postman, and my neighbours, and family – if you’re reading this I am sorry for any damage to your ears that may have occurred)

When Jennifer announced that she would be releasing Lux in Daemon’s POV, I honestly didn’t know what to think… I’m usually put off by any form of novella when it comes to series I’ve actually enjoyed (The Selection novellas I’m looking at you) and so I was mentally troubled for a while (read: 5 seconds) before I found myself clicking request book anyway – because Jennifer has never ruined a book before – so my expectations were pretty high. Plus, who doesn’t want more Daemon?

no, no, that wasnt a question

Of course we all want more Daemon

So I began reading it right away. And boy…  was I glad I did despite having three books to finish already… and a mountain of revision to do.

I feel like it is my duty to thank Jennifer L. Armentrout for not disappointing me with her books – this one perfectly complimented the Lux series.

The plot, although known to me, may as well have been a completely new adventure. I absolutely loved Daemon’s narrative – it was wonderfully… guy, and added even more feels to scenes which had already made me spill buckets of tears when written in Katy’s point of view. Finding out his inner thoughts and feelings, especially when he was being a complete and utter, smart-mouthed, dick (pardon my French) to Katy – it was nice to see that beneath it all he still cared… A lot more than he let on at first (the denial was strong in this one)  but he cared and it was all very heart-warming and cute, to the point where I’m pretty sure I gave my best friend (a fellow member of the Armentrout Army) a bruise from slapping her with the book multiple times whenever something happened – I’ve had to apologise so many times in this post already, but I am sorry (and grateful that you chose to read it at home where I would be safe from any revenge-filled, excitement fueled assault).

I also feel as though this book had resolved a lot of the ambiguity regarding some of the scenes in Obsidian – it (for the most part) became VERY clear why certain things happened the way they did.

All in all, I really loved getting a look at the inner clockwork of Daemon’s brain – and will be definitely looking into buying the ebook to read on to the next two books (and hopefully JLA will release the entire series in the beautiful alien’s POV because I’m pretty sure my fangirl heart will not be content stopping in the middle of a series) as I’d really like to see some more of the development that I know Daemon goes through later on in the series, as well as some more conversations with Matthiew (and perhaps all the other Luxen) as I felt that whilst he was in the original books, we didn’t really see him in a very favourable way like we do quite clearly in this one.

If you haven’t read the Lux series by the wonderful Jennifer L. Armentrout, you totally should. Although in my personal opinion this particular book could be read as a stand-alone – I can almost guarantee that you will want more at the end of it, in which case there are all these wonderful titles to check out if you do want more Katy and Daemon.

My rating: Solid 4.5/5 Stars

I spent most of Sunday listening to Dee and Kat talk about books and how book boyfriends were universally better than real boyfriends while they sat in the living room. And since I was a guy, maybe not human, I really wanted to disagree with that statement, but once they started listing the attributes of some of those dudes… There was no way anyone could compete with that”

Daemon

 

11 thoughts on “ARC Review: Oblivion – Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: November Wrap-Up,and a Welcome | IncendiumLibri

  2. Pingback: 2015 End of Year Survey | IncendiumLibri

  3. Very interesting post, thank you!
    I already read this incrediable book and I want to ask you a question. I have an ebook and there are also Onix and Opal with Daemon’s point of view. So do you know, are there these part in published copy?

    Like

    • Thank you for commenting! The paperback doesn’t have Onyx and Opal because the book would end up over 1000 pages long… which would be difficult to print. So its only the ebook that has all three books (the print copy I have only has Obsidian), I’m hoping JLA will write the next three in Daemon’s POV too 🙂

      Like

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

