Book Review: Zola Flash- T. Marie Alexander

Synopsis:zola flash cover
Zola is a Victian. And for as long as she’s been alive, her planet has been at war with the ruthless, demeaning Payohlini.

After witnessing the gruesome murder of her family, Zola Flash decides it is time to escape with the one person she was taught to hate before she meets the same fate. Earth seems to be the perfect place to hide out – to pretend her whole life didn’t come crashing down.

While on Earth, fitting in and making new friends are Zola’s main goal. It’s what she wants. A family to call her owns. But then, Zola uncovers family lies and the true reason behind this never ending war.

Now it’s up to Zola and the enemy, who is swiftly stealing her heart, to save her people and gain retribution for her family. But when revenge and protecting her people mean relinquishing her freedom, she’s left with a difficult choice.


I received an ebook copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

*NO MAJOR SPOILERS*

Okay… Let’s start with the good things about the book.

aliens guy

I like  an alien-filled story and this was definitely one of them, with our protagonist, as well as a good 95% of all the other named characters being full-blown (some shape-shifting) aliens!

The protagonist, Zola was also quite likable, there was very little you could not like about her, perhaps because she wasn’t developed past a certain stage… and for the first time ever – I have to say that it was probably a good thing that her character was under-developed as it meant less room for character flaws that I despise to emerge, which can’t really be a bad thing, right?

However this book did pose a few problems as well – which was a darn shame really seeing as I really liked the concept of the story… The main problem being one of my worst enemies when it comes to reading YA books (so Marie Alexander really isn’t the only one on this particular train) INSTA-LOVE… I just don’t see how you can meet someone and five minutes later be in love with them, even as a naive alien with a horrible past… Especially seeing as – well I’m going to let you figure out that one yourself. I guess the development of said love took more than about ten seconds like it usually does… but it was still a short enough period of time for me to think that it shouldn’t have happened…Especially with the differences between them. However, it may just be me, and some may view the way the relationships in this book developed as perfectly normal – it’s all based on one’s own opinion on such matters.

However, there was a problem that I know many bookworms have, namely – finding grammar and spelling inconsistencies… Which are prominent in many self-published novels, and this was yet another case of the somewhat disaster of the English language. However, I am not to judge, for I have not released a book, and probably won’t unless a miracle happens and the words I have stashed on my laptop will come to life on a dead tree (what a great description of a book, right?) but I did have a problem with the way that “here” and “hear” were used interchangeably in the sentence, “Who are you “hear/here” to see?”…  I am pedantic when it comes to grammar, and spelling, and anything to do with the make-up of the English language and it pains me when novels are hard to read purely because of their misuse…

Although, I have to say that overall, the story itself was very an enjoyable read, I finished the book in a day and it made me read more after the remains of a reading slump still had a grasp on me – and that itself is commendable, therefore I would recommend this debut novel to fans of science-fiction, aliens, and cute fuzzy side-kicks (I will leave you to find out what those are for yourself).

My Rating: 3/5 Stars

“Even the innocent can be marred by war”

-Goodreads synopsis

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Zola Flash- T. Marie Alexander

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

