Book Review: A Banquet of Consequences- Elizabeth George

Synopsis:a banquet of consequences cover

Inspector Lynley investigates the London end of an ever more darkly disturbing case, with Barbara Havers and Winston Nkata looking behind the peaceful façade of country life to discover a twisted world of desire and deceit.

The suicide of William Goldacre is devastating to those left behind. But what was the cause of his tragedy and how far might the consequences reach? Is there a link between the young man’s leap from a Dorset cliff and a horrific poisoning in Cambridge?

Following various career-threatening misdemeanours, Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers is desperate to redeem herself. So when a past encounter with bestselling feminist writer Clare Abbott and her pushy personal assistant Caroline Goldacre gives her a connection to the Cambridge murder, Barbara begs DI Thomas Lynley to let her pursue the crime.

Full of shocks, intensity and suspense from first page to last, A Banquet of Consequences reveals both Lynley and Havers under pressure, and author Elizabeth George writing at the very height of her exceptional powers.


 I received a copy of this book  from Hodder & Stoughton via Bookbridgr in exchange for an honest review.

So this was actually the first book I read in the Inspector Lynley series (always a bright idea to start on the 19th book in a series- isn’t it?) and I have to say it was largely enjoyable, despite not being quite in my comfort zone when considering its genre. In saying that, I would say that the book could definitely be read as a stand-alone, although I will most probably be looking to read the previous ones in order to understand the background of the lead characters slightly better in the future (however distant it may be).

I must say that I was pleasantly surprised by my liking of the book as I usually have a hard time reading not only adult fiction, but also any book with split POV. However, George executed this brilliantly and I can definitely say that it was a great decision on her part as it helped piece the story together (oh how happy I was when all the puzzle pieces eventually amalgamated to make the big picture) and allowed for the development of all the characters.

The characters were well-written and kept me interested through the 550 page long book, which in my eyes saved it; because I somehow managed to predict the ending, at least for the most part… which was slightly disappointing – but other than that the story of all the men and women was riveting – I felt somewhat sorry for India, and dismayed at the end of her story because I didn’t quite understand her last actions, but I guess they were extremely commendable (as much as they were stupid and crazy). I – as well as quite a few other readers from the opinions I’ve read – hated a certain character so much that I wanted them dead… which for a second time probably makes me an incredibly mean person, but the readers of this particular novel (as well as her others from the sounds of things) will probably completely agree with me, George simply has a way of creating such characters.

George handled quite a few controversial topics with ease, they created much needed plot-twists and turns which drove the plot at a comfortable pace, when I started reading the book without any others to distract me I managed to finish it within 4 days whilst others stared at me with disbelief as I tackled the monster of a book.

Overall, despite the overall predictability of the conclusion (which was probably down to my own style of reading and nothing else) I enjoyed the book, and would definitely recommend it to readers looking for a detail-ridden, mystery-driven novel full of superbly written characters (including a dog) and plot.

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

“He wants your sympathy, and sometimes, India, people mistake sympathy for love.”

Nathaniel Thompson

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: A Banquet of Consequences- Elizabeth George

  1. Pingback: January Wrap-up | IncendiumLibri

  2. I’m really impressed with your writing talents and also with the layout on your blog.
    Is that this a paid topic or did you customize it
    your self? Anyway keep up the excellent high quality writing,
    it is uncommon to look a nice blog like this one these days..

    Like

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

