January Wrap-up

MY LIFE THIS MONTH

So this month has been rather stressful when it comes to school… with a myriad of things getting in the way of my usual routine –  which was annoying to say the least because I haven’t read as much as I probably should have, nor have I blogged a decent amount … and although I don’t think that school applications are really an excuse for this, I haven’t been able to concentrate on anything else for the past month, seeing as I had to write my first personal statement (surprisingly that didn’t turn out a disaster and landed me an interview at the school I hope to attend for the next two years – which also went well!)

However, I think that is all sorted for a while, until of course – the infamous exam period coming up in May of this wonderful year… (can’t you just feel the excitement).

But until then I should continue blogging as usual (at least once a week on a Saturday, perhaps more to actually start building my blog) which perhaps isn’t an official promise, seeing as I’m pretty sure revision will kick my butt, as will any projects that I’m pretty sure my teachers have up their sleeves for the next few months, but I will try my best to continue with that for as long as it possible, and I will announce any major interruptions to the pattern as they come.


MY JANUARY IN BOOKS

READ: 10% of my TBR for this year

(which makes me think I should raise that number a little bit)

  • A Banquet of Consequences by Elizabeth George (and reviewed)
  • The Letter by Kathryn Hughes
  • Autumn Thorns by Yasmin Galenorn
  • When Everything Feels Like the Movies by Raziel Reid
  • Love Sick by Cory Martin

Currently Reading:

Received/bought:

20160130_175916_Richtone(HDR) (1)

IN ORDER: The Book of Phoenix by Nnedi Okorafor, Arcadia by James Treadwell, Nymphs by Sari Luhtanen and Miikko Oikkonen, Hot Feminist by Polly Vernon, 13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough, Rebound by Aga Lesiewicz and The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

I bought Rebound and The Girl on the Train to treat myself. Publishers were courteous to send me the first four books via Bookbridgr. And I managed to win 13 Minutes via a giveaway on Goodreads (although I thought winning one of those was virtually impossible before the instance).

So I guess that was my January, it’s scary to think that we’re one month down already, isn’t it? Although personally, it’s felt more like March for some reason…

Have you read any of the books above? Or perhaps want to recommend any of your January reads for me to read this month – drop me a comment below 🙂

“She wasn’t a person to whom things happen. She did all the happenings.”
Muriel Spark, Aiding and Abetting

 

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

