ARC Review: Love Sick – Cory Martin

Synopsis:love sick cover

At 28, Cory Martin thought she had it all, a budding career as a writer in Hollywood, an apartment of her own, and a healthy obsession with yoga. But when she found herself on the floor of her apartment wailing into the phone, ‘but I don’t want to be sick,’ her entire world came crashing down.

A doctor had just revealed that she had Multiple Sclerosis, a potentially debilitating disease, her good friend was getting married that weekend and the only people she wanted to call were her parents. In a time when she was supposed to be coming into her own as an adult, all she could think was who’s going to want to marry me now?

As she embarked on a medical quest, subjecting herself to countless MRIs and a painful spinal tap that landed her in the ER, Cory simultaneously threw herself head first into dating. She was determined to find love before the disease took over her body. But no matter how many doctors she saw or men she met there would never be a cure for MS. And if you think it’s hard to get the guy you’re dating to give you a ride to the airport, try getting him to drive you to the hospital. Add to that an unfortunate incident with a blue thong and a cute young doctor, and Cory quickly realized that learning to deal with MS would take a whole lot more strength than a ring on her finger could ever provide.


I received an eARC of this book from Write Out Publishing via NetGalley in return for an honest review. 

With the way in which this book started, I guess I had higher hopes. The introduction made me extremely intrigued about what the rest of the story was going to bring, but I was largely disappointed.

 Reading it was almost like opening a tin of Quality Street sweets and getting a sewing kit instead (does anyone else’s mum do this or is it just mine?) whilst the contents are still very useful and good and all that… it is simply not what I set out to find.

My main reason for requesting the book was to find out more about MS (Multiple Sclerosis) seeing as I’m fascinated by anything related to Neurology (to the point where I’m considering a career in the field) however this wasn’t exactly the case seeing as the book consisted largely of “OH dear me with this incurable disease which I’m not even sure I have”…. and “WHO ON THIS EARTH WILL LOVE ME NOW?” and while of course her fears were understandable – hell I would probably be thinking along the same lines – they were repeated so many times it was getting a bit tedious.

sarcastic cat

Whilst perhaps I wasn’t reading it with the apathy of Salem here (I still have feelings, man… they were just slightly frustrated)  I definitely wasn’t pleased entirely with the story.

What’s that? “You have been warned by the blurb,” you say… Maybe I was, but I just assumed that the whole love part of the story wasn’t going to be the centrepiece (hoping that the disease wasn’t going to be cast into the outskirts).

Albeit saying all of that, the story somehow managed to be quite amusing, especially the  incident with the blue thong (mentioned in the synopsis) – that made me giggle a bit. Okay… A lot. Her humour was very admirable – I do not think I would have been able to even try to go on with life as she attempted to.

Another thing I enjoyed was Martin’s writing style, which was not only easy to read but also engaging, she made a book about an incredibly difficult topic a light and pleasant read which is commendable to say the very least.

All in all, whilst my inner medical geek is slightly disappointed, I can’t say that it was a bad book, because after all it is the author’s personal story – and she had the right to focus on whatever she wanted to… And it did leave me somewhat inspired – which is always a bonus.

My Rating: 3/5 Stars

“We are all on a journey, and whether that journey is epic or small, it matters” 

Cory Martin

 

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

