ARC Review: More Than Lies – N.E Henderson

Shortened Synopsis:more than lies cover

Will one too many lies be the final end…

NO ONE IS PERFECT.
I wish I could scream it at them, but they won’t listen. No one will listen. My parents ignore me. They expect me to be someone I’m not. I try to make them happy. I try to make everyone in my life happy, but I’m tired of it because no matter how hard I try it’s never good enough for my parents. For him….

When tragedy strikes Taralynn Evans in the worst way, she finds herself bargaining in distress, trying to find reason and rationality in what’s set before her, but will he give in when in most cases the good girl never gets the bad boy?

(Continued on Goodreads…) 


 

I received an eARC of this book from Patchwork Press via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

I can’t really say anything bad about this book, it had nothing wrong with it but it also lacked something.

Perhaps it was the lack of maturity displayed by the two MCs… I mean it took a bloody tragedy for the two to actually talk like adults. And even then they spent a good portion of their time stuck in the same old cycle of sexual tension and silent treatment which obviously work wonderfully when put together and get the characters very far in life. shaking head

However I did like the split POV as for once it was executed well and actually added to the story as when one of the narrators was being a vague prat the other usually filled in the gaps which was nice to see. Also, we don’t really see nearly enough romance novels written from the guy’s POV and dear book gods, that needs to change please (with seven cherries on top).

Also, Tara actually wasn’t the typical moping and easily diverted female we sometimes see in NA novels with similar happenings, she was quite resilient and actually knew what she wanted most of the time. Shawn was another story but his character development made up for it. The “bad boy” player type changes into a somewhat mature guy who actually admits the fact that he’s been in love with a girl for absolute years and has been a complete douche about it for that period of time.

It was good to live through all of the realisations with him, I was sort of doing a happy dance when he came to his final conclusions at the end because by that time I was unfortunately somewhat emotionally invested in what was happening. I just wanted it all to end happily, or as happily as the circumstances allowed for it. Surprisingly though, I didn’t actually cry at any point during the course of the novel which was a strange sensation seeing as it’s usually incredibly easy to make me turn on the waterworks.

Unfortunately, some of the supporting characters fell a bit flat, there wasn’t enough explanation behind them (and their actions in some cases) which was disappointing, but I think it’s fair to say that the main characters made up for that fact.

The story itself was largely realistic , it definitely wasn’t sunshine and rainbows, but of course it wasn’t all terrible – some books don’t get that balance right, it’s one or the other so Henderson did a really good job in creating the plot. However, I did have a slight problem with the prologue seeing as it depicted a 6 year old Shawn saying things like “freaking”… and having a younger brother I can almost certainly assure you that little children do not speak like that – it bugged me to read words that belonged in the brain/mouth of a teenager coming from a little boy  but that problem was luckily resolved as soon as the book switched to present time in which the description was more acceptable.

All in all, I quite enjoyed this book, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a NA novel which deals with not-so-perfect lives and weaves in some rather quality romance throughout.

 My Rating: Strong 3.5/5 Stars

“There is nothing like the time we have with those we love the most. Every moment is precious because we aren’t promised tomorrow. Hold on to them tight and cherish them while you’re given the chance.” 

-Taralynn Evans

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

