ARC Review: The Secret Fire – C.J Daugherty, Carina Rozenfeld

the secret fire coverSynopsis:

A battle against fate. A race against time.

Taylor Montclair is a regular girl from the quiet backwater of Woodbury, England.

Sacha Winters is a darkly mysterious boy from the City of Lights – Paris, France.

While Taylor’s focussed on her dream of attending Oxford University, school couldn’t be further from Sacha’s mind . . .

Sacha knows exactly when he’s going to die. Because he’s done it before.

On the appointed day, Sacha’s time will run out. And his death will fulfil an ancient destiny that could unleash chaos and catastrophe.

Taylor is the only person who can save him.Neither of them knows that yet.Because they haven’t even met.Hundreds of miles and a body of water separate them.Deadly forces will stop at nothing to keep them apart.

They have eight weeks to find each other and unravel an ancient web of mystery and danger.

The clock starts NOW.


 

I received an eProof  copy of this book from Little Brown Book Group UK via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I need to read much more fantasy. I read The Secret Fire after a looong streak of nothing but contemporary reads which disregarded my love for them completely and had put me into some sort of an almost book slump (tip: unless you’re an avid reader of one particular genre and despise all others do try to mix up your reading sometimes to avoid this sort of situation)…

I do love meself (such a British thing to say) a story set (partially) in France… Paris was described almost magically and made me want to teleport there to be with Taylor and Sacha. I actually love books that transport me to their worlds with the detail and care put into their descriptions and this was definitely one of those books.

Speaking of characters, they were wonderfully thought out and actually sort of mature for a Young Adult book apart from a few mishaps which were mostly explained by their difficult circumstances – I mean you can’t expect teenagers their age to deal with things 100% rationally as not even adults would come to terms with what Sacha was destined to do – and I honestly don’t think I know anyone who wouldn’t flip out if they found out they possessed the power to save him, along with the entire world. I mean I know I’d look something like this

confused shock

for at least a few hours… If not days if we’re being realistic. So let’s give it to them, they behaved as well as they could have at that time – plus I’ve seen worse in YA… much worse… *shudders*.

Sacha quickly became my favourite of the two, I mean Taylor wasn’t too bad considering the fact that she had literally no flaws whatsoever like the all-typical YA heroine, but I’ll forgive her because she wasn’t annoying – but Sacha really took the cake with his sweet behaviour and the absolutely gorgeous interactions with not only Taylor herself, but his mother and little sister, it was just lovely to read about if I’m honest.

All relationships in this book were actually really well thought out so huge kudos to the authors but as a side note – some of the stuff that happened???? THAT was a low blow and my feels deserved none of it and it still hurts… a lot, man.

The pacing of the novel worked really well, I wasn’t bored at any point and the story flowed really nicely throughout which just added to all of my emotions because the authors left just enough time to dwell on the bits that should be dwelt upon and built up tension before something major happened which worked wonderfully.

If the second book is going to continue in this romancey, non-love-triangular, non-insta-love, science and magic filled way then sign me up for the wait till September 2016.

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

“Sacha straightened hurriedly, remembering that English teens didn’t kiss each other quite as frequently as French kids. ” 

– A quote which is vaguely relevant to a recent event in my life 

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

