ARC Review: If I Should Remember – K.D. Van Brunt

Synopsis:

Memories make us human. Are we still alive if we can’t remember?

Seventeen-year-old Zoe Laleigh has accepted that sometimes the only way to survive today is to wipe away the past. That’s what her loving parents and dedicated psychiatrist are helping her do—forget. What, she’s not entirely sure. All she knows is when an entire year of recollections goes missing, there’s definitely something wrong.
Sometimes the past isn’t so easily forgotten…
Through a flood of dreams, Zoe realizes something happened. Something terrible and tragic. Her lost year is a monster hiding in the shadow of her nightmares, taunting her, but unwilling to reveal itself. When her family relocates, she hopes a new town and new school will help her regain a sense of normalcy. If only it were that easy.

Strangely enough, only her dog, Rin, seems to understand her… (cont. on Goodreads)


I received an eARC edition of this book via NetGalley courtesy of Limitless Publishing in exchange for an honest review. 
I felt like this whole book was rushed when it came to its execution. Whilst it had potential plot wise – the love story/triangle/mess that began on the second page just ruined it for me to the point where I wasn’t buying the story at all….

I didn’t buy it further on in the book either because things just got rather messy plot wise, so much happened and yet none of it was particularly gripping or exciting. Let’s just say the endgame  was predictable from the start…

And even then, the execution of the final few chapters could have been better and perhaps drawn out a bit more. I feel as though so much happened and yet I got very little information on it at all. It would have been nice to see the story develop a bit more instead of being snapped closed without much actual closure.

The only reason I’m giving this 2 stars is because of the plot twist. Whilst I knew Zoe wasn’t completely okay mentally…. I didn’t realise how bad her situation was until the only interesting bit of the novel happened – aka the one and only big reveal.

There were attempts at more of these, with some past experiences of the boys being revealed, but none of them, simply put – managed to shock me. For me, they were easily predictable and believable, nothing out of the ordinary and nothing new.

Another perk of this book was the fact that it didn’t take long to read at all. I started and finished it in one day. Which was a commendable effort on my part. But also, I think that it only happened because this was quite a light read despite aiming for a darker effect.

My Rating: 2/5 Stars.

He knows stuff about me, but he won’t share it with me.” 

Zoe

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

