Great Big Summer Wrap-Up!!

MY LIFE THIS SUMMER

I think it’s safe to say that this summer has actually been the best summer I have experienced in a loooooooooooooooooooong while.

I had a wonderful time in Poland and managed not to get lost on the way there and back – which I found quite admirable on my part, because it was my first time flying somewhere alone – (planes, you better be aware I am no longer terrified of you).

I enjoyed the natural beauty of my childhood home and revisited an old passion of mine, namely horse-riding; and now wish that it was slightly less expensive to continue riding in this country, because prices here are ridiculous in comparison…

20160725_201148_Richtone(HDR).jpg

But this is the sort of thing that I was allowed to see pretty much on a day to day basis seeing as I can’t actually count the number of times I visited the many lakes in the area which makes me want to return to it sooner than it’s probably possible. 

BUT I DO HAVE TO SAY THAT THIS HOLIDAY HAS MADE ME EXTREMELY LAZY WHEN IT COMES TO THIS BLOG. 

And for that I am sorry, and I promise to be a good potato blogger now and post regularly. Or at least try a lot harder to not allow any doubts I may have about the existence of this blog get in my way of doing this. Because in all fairness, I do love writing this blog; it has changed my life – maybe not hugely, but I am now much more confident as a person, but have also had the chance to meet so many amazing people – one of those being one of my ultimate favourite authors whose books are complete auto-reads for me. Namely JENNIFER L. ARMENTROUT herself thanks to the Chapter 5 Proof Party.

JLA and I

My photos with my beloved authors always end up looking a bit dodgy, but what gives.

So yes, I met THE QUEEN and creator of the books that have captured my heart. (Can we also talk about how she wrote a book in 7 days!!!???? I mean,  when I asked her about it she said it was largely caffeine fueled but that’s still a lot to write in a week. Especially something that was that good!) She was also kind enough to sign a pile of about 10 books for me, because she is truly the epitome of awesome 🙂

There were also cupcakes with JLA’s boys’ faces on them, and holy Daemon babies everywhere, they were amazing!

CUPCAKES

So yes, this summer has been amazing, but now school starts in what is now basically 5 days, and I am getting ready for the onslaught of work that A Levels will bring!

head deskI'm prepared to fight my way out of here

Especially after getting the grades I needed to get into my chosen subjects, namely Chemistry, Biology, Maths and French…. I’m not sure if those choices will be something I will be regretting but we’ll see how it goes in the next few weeks and I’m hoping this year will continue to treat me well.


MY SUMMER IN BOOKS

READ: 20% of my Goodreads goal (10 Books)

  • The Deviants by C.J Skuse
  • Replica by Lauren Oliver
  • The Prophecy of Shadows (Elementals #1) by Michelle Madow
  • City in Embers by Stacey Marie Brown
  • The Star Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi
  • If I Should Remember by K.D Van Brunt
  • The entire  Unbecoming of Mara Dyer Trilogy by Michelle Hodkins
  • The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles

Currently Reading:

stealing snow cover.jpg

Which has somewhat been disappointing so far, but I guess I will finish it seeing as my Kindle informs me I have about 15 mins of reading left in it. 

Received/bought:

So I did break my requesting/buying book ban a wee bit during these past few weeks, but I felt the need to because I was given the opportunity to review titles such as Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven and Something in Between by Melissa de la Cruz.

And of course, the budget I was given on holiday also allowed for me to come back with 6 books (well, 3 of which were technically the Wreck This Box set, which included the insanely popular Wreck This Journal I have been meaning to get for a while).

But I do plan to cut back on requesting once again for a while, mainly because my shelves are getting worryingly full and I will soon just end up with stacks of books everywhere which won’t please any of the inhabitants in my house.

Have you read any of the books above? Or perhaps want to recommend any of your Summer reads for me to read this month – drop me a comment below:)

“There’s so much gray to every story—nothing is so black and white.”
Lisa Ling

One thought on “Great Big Summer Wrap-Up!!

  1. I’m glad you’ve had such a lovely summer!!! Poland looks amazing! And I have to agree – horse riding is ridiculously expensive in this country. I used to go quite often when I was younger, but not so much these days. I hope you enjoyed the books you read the past few weeks! Good luck for when school starts – I’m also starting A Levels this year and ahhh I’m so nervous! ❤

    Like

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

