ARC Review: Stealing Snow – Danielle Page

Synopsis: stealing snow cover

Seventeen-year-old Snow has spent the majority of her life within the walls of the Whittaker Institute, a high security mental hospital in upstate New York. Deep down, she knows she’s not crazy and doesn’t belong there. When she meets a mysterious, handsome new orderly and dreams about a strange twisted tree she realizes she must escape and figure out who she really is.

Using her trusting friend Bale as a distraction, Snow breaks free and races into the nearby woods. Suddenly, everything isn’t what it seems, the line between reality and fantasy begins to blur, and she finds herself in icy Algid–her true home–with witches, thieves, and a strangely alluring boy named Kai, none of whom she’s sure she can trust. As secret after secret is revealed, Snow discovers that she is on the run from a royal lineage she’s destined to inherit, a father more powerful and ruthless than she could have imagined, and choices of the heart that could change the fate of everything…including Snow’s return to the world she once knew.


I received an eARC edition of this book courtesy of Bloomsbury Publishing Plc. via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Did I finish this book? Yes I did.

Did I enjoy it? No I didn’t, like at all.

I think a book about last winter’s snow melting would have been more exciting a read than this. Don’t get me wrong, the author did try, there were attempts at action which sort of gripped my attention for about 2 mins at a time…. but I probably could not recall much of it even if my entire existence depended on it.

I’m largely disappointed, tremendously so even. The concept of The Snow Queen retelling had soooooo much potential I was furious that it wasn’t better executed. The only thing I can actually say I appreciated was the concept of the powers and how magic was weaved into the story in a way that actually moved the story along somewhat, I was curious to find out what else the world beyond the tree had to hold.

Only to find out that the plot was literally going to meander back and forth between “oh, look, A MALE , let’s just fall in love with him, like – Right. Now” and a bunch of other clichés…

I mean, there was a love SQUARE. Yes, you read that right – not a normal couple, .not even a love triangle, a bloody love square, with each of its corners completed by insta-love itself. What a lovely combination this book was.

And the other part of the book seemed to be “oh, I have powers, let me not know how to use them correctly and/or forget to use them entirely….”. There was no world building, I didn’t feel particularly attached to the characters, nor can I say that I felt anything at all, not even a smidgen of positive emotions. AND ISN’T THAT SOMETHING TO LOOK FOR IN A BOOK… 

Because quite frankly  no, it isn’t.

Another thing that irked me beyond comfortable point of irkedness (because yes, that is a word now) was the fact that the writing seemed rather disjointed, maybe it was the fact that I had only read the ARC of the book, maybe this issue would be fixed in the future editions of the book, but in mine I just couldn’t get past that.

Also, why the frickety-frick-frack was there even a mental asylum involved, like what sort of significance did that have in the story apart from acting as a pretense for “world-building”, and it was only there for like the first 3 chapters of the book before our naive heroine decided it’d be a great idea to listen to and follow a random guy she just met (because not creepy at all… nope, best idea anyone’s ever had, that’s why there is a whole film franchise about the dangers of said situation….)

My Rating: 1/5 Stars (and only because I fought through this novel) 

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Stealing Snow – Danielle Page

  1. It’s such a bummer that you didn’t enjoy this one. I was excited for it, but based on your review it doesn’t sound AT ALL like what I was expecting it to be. Sometimes the most hyped books simply aren’t as good as we hoped. I hope the next book you read is much better!

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2016 End of Year Survey  | IncendiumLibri

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

