Book Review: The Star-Touched Queen – Roshani Chokshi

Synopsis:the-star-touched-queen-cover

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only se
venteen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.


I received an eARC edition of this novel courtesy of St. Martin’s Press in exchange for an honest review.

I find it really difficult to wrote reviews of the hyped books. Especially when I have nothing nice to say about them which has somehow turned out to be half of my looked-forward-to list this year. Luckily, this particular book was not the case.

me likey.gif

I know I usually moan about insta-love. I know…. but I somehow bought this one. And that’s a real rarity because I’m incredibly annoyed with most cases of it. I think it was mainly because it seemed rather appropriate given the cultural situation in which the protagonist was placed in and given the fact that destiny and fate played such a huge part of the novel, and because I thought it was going to happen at one point or another anyway; it didn’t irk me as much as it usually does.

I loved Maya’s voice, she was resilient and headstrong and just things that I love in a main character, especially in these sorts of novels where some of the female characters really lack in the characteristics department.

The story flowed almost magically. It definitely made my 2 hour flight pass by in no more than a blink and I think that itself deserves praise because I was surrounded by rowdy children.

The animal side kick yet again stole my heart . She was the ideal mix of sarcasm and sweetness, and was honestly probably my favourite character despite none of the characters being particularly unlikeable. I really loved her part in the story, and the fact that she was allowed to live unlike many other animal sidekicks I have had the chance to read about.

Chokshi’s style is something magnificent, full of metaphorical language it left me largely intrigued. The descriptions in this book were wonderful, and intricately crafted, and I loved the idea of mythology within the story – I thought it worked really well with the plot.

Whilst some people were annoyed by the unclarity which was caused by the writing, I can’t say I particularly minded, I think the fact that the reader is kept in the dark about quite a few things (especially when it comes to the world within which the book was set) was a good move on the author’s part.

Only fault I could find really was the fact that the “BIG AND BAD” was quite predictable. I was screaming at the protagonist not to go in her vicinity . But of course, that didn’t quite go to plan and the protagonist fell head first into trouble – but I guess that is custom of fantasy novels really, so it isn’t something that Chokshi can be blamed for.

If you want a story full of culture, deceit, love (or was it really?) and intrigue written in an almost magical way , then this book may just be for you.

My rating : 4/5 Stars

“A memory is a fine legacy to leave behind.”
Roshani Chokshi, The Star-Touched Queen

 

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

