Writing Prompt: Describe A Person You Admire

I’m currently undergoing some sort of reading and blogging slump and it was suggested to me to try something a little different. A while ago in my English class, we were asked to write a piece on a person you admire, and me being the indecisive person that I am, decided to do it on authors – because why not nerd out in an essay if you’re given the perfect opportunity to? And I guess this post will be a slightly more reviewed version of that.

I cannot say if this feature will become a regular thing on my blog in between the usual reviews and general booknerdery, but this week I just couldn’t bring myself to write another review, so I’m sorry for anyone who has come here expecting this. I’m willing to take any criticism and comments on this particular piece, any ideas for improvement are welcome.

I will hopefully be returning with a review next week, but in the meantime – here goes nothing!

thumbs up gif.gif


When I met one of my ultimate, all-time favourite authors, I was disappointed.

Not because he was some grotesque, unpleasant person (because he truly was the opposite of both of those things; thankfully, I might add) but because he was… well – just an ordinary man dressed in equally normal jeans and a shirt who sounded much alike any other American I had ever come across.

And yet that didn’t stop me from becoming an incoherent, rambling mess when conversing with him on a pleasant night of ‘partying’ (if one may call a gathering of bloggers who ate flying saucers whilst discussing books and the like partying – if you can, then please invite me to more parties) in Central London.

Whilst ink had flown through my veins from a young age, begging to be released in the form of words on paper, I had never been able to achieve what my role models seemed to be doing with ease – creating something so alive and furiously vivid that it stayed in people’s minds and thrived on for long after they had closed the covers.

What more, allowing them to find themselves in the characters, so carefully crafted to give the transcendent illusion that they were not alone at that moment in time, or ever – making them realise that other people out there were struggling with the same problems and that there was a possibility that these issues could be overcome if they kept trying and stayed alive to see the sunshine at the end of the storm. That the end of one story didn’t have to mean the end of a beautiful series, and that any potential evil could eventually be overcome if enough sarcasm and wit and strength and friendship was applied.

If I was being honest, I would say that books had helped me too in that way, giving me the power to continue through life and dispelling the notion created by Disney that I would need a prince to come and save me, and making me realise that I, myself could achieve it.

All of this because of tattooed corpses of trees…

So when I met the creator and mastermind behind a particularly beautifully crafted tale, I was  disappointed, for I had expected a god-like giant of a being, possibly with a golden aura radiating around him and a pet Pegasus at his feet for ease and convenience of travel. And definitely not a human being who spent the night chatting away and answering each of our weird and wonderful questions with patience and care, whilst making everybody present feel welcome. (And looking back, I am in a way sure that this disappointment was for the best, for I think that the internal screaming would have reached dangerous levels had it been otherwise).

Despite these differences from the concept created by my imagination, I could simply not deny the fact  that he had still created the world that I had gotten lost in, a world that had open my eyes to new possibilities, a world that made me challenge some ideas I had not had the courage to do so previously, a world that had made me cry, and laugh – sometimes simultaneously in a strange flurry of emotions. Most importantly, he created a world that has stayed with me since then, reminding me of its words of wisdom such as “Per Aspera ad Astra,” in times of difficulty and need and comforting me with the knowledge that for the most part, whatever happens , the most important things in life will turn out all right.

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

