Book Review: Rain – India R. Adams

rain-cover

Synopsis:

What if you knew you had just met the other part of your soul—the one who could take away all the pain and loneliness—but no one believes you because the rugged stranger from the woods is nowhere to be found? Would you search for him? Would you be strong enough to believe he exist somewhere out in the darkness where he found you? And if you were to finally find the stranger from the woods and learn he is like no other tale that has ever been told… would you still have the courage to love him?

Rose has no time for romance because her father has passed away from an illness plaguing her small town, and now her mother has also contracted the illness, leaving Rose’s two younger siblings to be her responsibility. But when her best friend forces her to be young for a night and celebrate her twentieth birthday with a bonfire and friends, Rose meets a stranger from the woods, and Rose soon learns he is no stranger at all. In fact, this magical being is trying to keep her… alive.

Two bloods of one will bring down the shadows, to cast, no more…


I was provided with a copy of this novel courtesy of the lovely author herself, in exchange for an honest review.

She’s done it again – I have no clue how India R. Adams has managed it, but I will read whatever she will come up with because I am now sure that I will certainly not be disappointed. I’m a huge fan of her style – it’s descriptive, but not in a dragging 2000000 million word description that makes you fall asleep because it’s so long way, it’s concise enough to be a real pleasure to read, but you also find out so much about the story you’re reading that it leaves you immensely pleased.

Yet again, Adams has developed her secondary characters unlike so many authors of this genre. I absolutely loved Blaze and his humour and sarcasm – there were a few scenes in particular that made me chuckle out loud in the pitch darkness of my room, which must have sounded questionable to anyone who was awake at the time. But honestly, his interactions with Ryder, and Rose’s mother and just everyone really were hilarious.

THERE WERE DEMONS, and elves and humans and nature and they were all woven together in a paranormal whirl of events – however, there was also a love triangle… which bugged me a little – I’m not going to lie, they always do in whatever book they might occur in, but I also see how it worked in the story – and I certainly have a few suspicions as to the ending of the book that I just want to discuss right now. Because I can’t be the only one who thought that way.

I loved the spectrum of relationships displayed in this book because they were all wonderfully complex – from the elves link to nature to Rose and her family and Gunner (who was a brilliant individual who deserved all of the good things for the way he stuck by Rose, even though I wasn’t fully supportive of the whole romantic side of their interactions), to the elven brothers, and all the characters as a whole.

The mix between the traditional and natural way of life of the elves and the modern, as-we-know-it world bewildered me at times, for some reason my brain insisted that Rose lived in a medieval style cottage, and it took me a while to wrap my head around the fact that this book was set in present day…. (thanks brain).

Needless to say, I really enjoyed reading this book, and will definitely be looking to read the sequel, River  in the near future.

My Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

Feel free to share your thoughts below :)

